Mangrove Photography Awards 2023

Last year’s competition received over 2000 entries


The Mangrove Photography Awards is now open. The competition invites photographers of all levels around the world to contribute their images to highlight the beauty and fragility of mangrove ecosystems and inspire conservation action to protect them.

Mangroves are one of the world’s most important ecosystems, and one of the most threatened. Today, less than half the world’s original mangrove forest cover remains, making the Mangrove Photography Awards a crucial platform to “intrigue people about the magnificent ecological role mangroves play in all of our lives", according to awards ambassador Dhritiman Mukherjee.

There are six categories that appeal to a range of interests and approaches, including a photojournalism multiple image category, allowing the photographer to tell important mangrove stories. This year’s competition will be judged by conservation photographers Octavio Aburto, Daisy Gilardini and Daniel Kordan.

Last year’s competition received over 2000 entries from 68 countries. You can view the winners here. All entries will be celebrated as an online mangrove exhibition on 26th July, World Mangrove Day. The overall winner will be crowned the Mangrove Photographer of the Year, with winners announced for each of the categories, as well as this year’s Young Mangrove Photographer of the Year, in September 2023.


$500 Mangrove Photographer of the Year
$250 Category Winners
$150 Category Runner's Up
$250 Young Mangrove Photographer of the Year


Open to both amateur and professional photographers of all ages and levels.

Copyrights & Usage Rights:

Entrants will retain ownership and copyright of all their submitted images.

Usage of the images – by the Competition owners or any partners and affiliates – in instances unrelated to the Mangrove Photography Awards and mangrove conservation is strictly prohibited.